Skip to content
Slough Counts — Slough, in numbers.Local help →

Slough, in numbers

People and living standards

Slough council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Slough council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 105,377 in 1991 to 167,450 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Slough council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 114,882 people in 1996; 167,450 people in 2025. 45.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Slough council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991105,377
1992106,920
1993108,779
1994110,986
1995112,921
1996114,882
1997116,499
1998117,980
1999118,497
2000119,694
2001120,577
2002120,927
2003120,869
2004120,833
2005122,874
2006125,200
2007127,991
2008131,453
2009134,742
2010137,800
2011140,713
2012143,095
2013144,880
2014147,313
2015150,104
2016152,565
2017154,573
2018155,915
2019157,632
2020158,281
2021158,448
2022159,765
2023163,608
2024166,739
2025167,450
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Slough council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 26,583 people in 1996; 40,073 people in 2025. 50.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Slough council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199124,086
199224,693
199325,375
199425,957
199526,395
199626,583
199726,770
199826,854
199926,857
200026,816
200126,554
200226,700
200326,770
200426,941
200527,359
200627,935
200728,824
200830,011
200931,245
201032,472
201133,785
201234,800
201335,489
201436,413
201537,302
201638,151
201738,869
201839,320
201939,628
202039,801
202139,427
202239,524
202339,946
202440,311
202540,073
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Slough council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 74,792 people in 1996; 110,597 people in 2025. 47.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Slough council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199168,426
199269,160
199370,248
199471,778
199573,154
199674,792
199776,127
199877,457
199977,895
200079,049
200180,135
200280,524
200380,512
200480,528
200582,238
200684,109
200786,210
200888,539
200990,566
201092,419
201194,053
201295,193
201396,112
201497,409
201599,049
2016100,429
2017101,402
2018102,074
2019103,169
2020103,347
2021103,604
2022104,503
2023107,628
2024110,061
2025110,597
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Slough council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 13,507 people in 1996; 16,780 people in 2025. 24.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Slough council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199112,865
199213,067
199313,156
199413,251
199513,372
199613,507
199713,602
199813,669
199913,745
200013,829
200113,888
200213,703
200313,587
200413,364
200513,277
200613,156
200712,957
200812,903
200912,931
201012,909
201112,875
201213,102
201313,279
201413,491
201513,753
201613,985
201714,302
201814,521
201914,835
202015,133
202115,417
202215,738
202316,034
202416,367
202516,780
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 158,500 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Slough · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh74,09346.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African11,9927.6%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups6,3114%
White57,13436%
Other ethnic group8,9705.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 140,205 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Slough · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White64,05345.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups4,7583.4%
Asian/Asian British55,69739.7%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British12,1158.6%
Other ethnic group3,5822.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 119,067 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Slough · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White75,84363.7%
Mixed2,7782.3%
Asian/Asian British33,27227.9%
Black/Black British6,0265.1%
Chinese/Other1,1481%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 16.4% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Slough council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,522 per person in 1997; £21,714 per person in 2024. 106.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Slough council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,522
199810,638
199910,880
200011,490
200111,796
200212,184
200312,641
200413,009
200513,318
200613,713
200714,357
200814,504
200914,559
201014,271
201114,440
201214,898
201315,510
201415,661
201516,222
201616,635
201717,336
201817,888
201918,576
202018,474
202118,846
202219,887
202320,671
202421,714
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Slough council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -0.8% in 1997; -16.4% in 2024. 15.6 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Slough council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-0.8
1998-1.8
1999-3.8
2000-3.5
2001-4.7
2002-3.7
2003-3
2004-4.1
2005-5.3
2006-6.4
2007-6.4
2008-7.9
2009-9.1
2010-11.6
2011-11.4
2012-11.8
2013-11.4
2014-13.4
2015-14.7
2016-13.6
2017-12
2018-12.4
2019-11.8
2020-12
2021-13.7
2022-13.4
2023-15.5
2024-16.4
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

62%

21 March 2021 · Slough council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

21.1%

21 March 2021 · Slough council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

20.2%

21 March 2021 · Slough council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.7%

21 March 2021 · Slough council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£336,000

July 2026 · Slough council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,565

August 2026 · Slough council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.